Skip to content

Nominations Open for 2017 Door County CTA of the Year

The Door County Visitor Bureau (DCVB) is currently accepting nominations for the 2017 Door County Certified Tourism Ambassador (CTA) of the year now through March 31.

Nominees must be current Door County CTA’s and nominations from employers, co-workers or customers are welcome. Self-nominations are also encouraged. Any Door County CTA who has consistently gone above and beyond in their interactions with visitors in Door County are eligible. Nomination forms are available at the DCVB Welcome Center in Sturgeon Bay or by contacting Yvonne Torres at 920-818-1139 or

This is the seventh year the award will be presented to an area Certified Tourism Ambassador for their exemplary custom service to Door County’s visitors. Last year’s winner was Randy Zahn from the Waterbury Inn in Ephraim.

“The Door County Certified Tourism Ambassador of the year personifies the very foundation of what the program was built upon by exceeding customer expectations, possessing strong knowledge of Door County and promoting the ideals of the program by turning each visitor encounter into a positive experience,” said Yvonne Torres, CTA program coordinator for the DCVB. “These individuals are important to the Door County brand and it is important to recognize their efforts, “she said.

Over 800 CTA’s have been trained in Door County since the DCVB began the local program in 2009. The local CTA program is part of a national curriculum that trains front line tourism workers and volunteers on customer service, local destination knowledge, and area tourism resources.

This year’s winner will be announced at Door County’s National Travel and Tourism Week Breakfast on May 10, 2017 at Stone Harbor Resort and Conference Center in Sturgeon Bay. The winner will receive an engraved Star Award in recognition of their accomplishment, a silver CTA pin, and a $50 Door County gift certificate. They will also move on to the National CTA of the Year award competition.

More than 17,000 CTA’s nationwide have completed the program since its inception in 2006. For more informational about the national program, visit

Previous Door County CTA of the year award winners include Yvonne Torres (2011), Rachel Willems (2012), Wally Vartanian (2013), Sue and Joe Jarosh (2014), Paul Thacker (2015), and Randy Zahn (2016).