Skip to content

New Board Members Voted In, CTA Employer of the Year Award Announced at 2018 DCVB Annual Meeting

Media Contact: Jon Jarosh, Director of Communications & PR, Door County Visitor Bureau, or 920-818-1133

More than 130 Door County business leaders enjoyed a beautiful dinner at Mr. G’s Fernwood Gardens Ballroom on Tuesday evening October 30th for the Door County Visitor Bureau’s (DCVB) 93rd annual meeting.

The evening started with a 5:30 PM social hour followed by dinner and the annual meeting at 6:30 PM. The official business of the night took place when new DCVB board members Meredith Coulson-Kanter (White Gull Inn), Hoyt Purinton (Washington Island Ferry), Rachel Schartner (The Landing Resort), Mark Schuster (Bay Shore Outfitters) and Vicki Wilson (Door County Coffee & Tea) were voted in by those members present. Coulson-Kanter, Purinton, Schartner, Schuster and Wilson will begin their terms in January 2019.

The big news of the night was the announcement of the DCVB’s Certified Tourism Ambassador (CTA) Employer of the Year award. CTA co-facilitator Laura Kevin presented the 2018 award to the Sturgeon Bay Visitor Center (SBVC). “The work they [SBVC] do in the community exemplifies the very foundation of the CTA program,” Kevin said during the presentation. “We are proud and grateful to have them as a partner in our CTA program.”

Accepting the CTA Employer of the Year award for the SBVC was Savanna Townsend, Marketing & Promotions Director. Since the inception of the CTA program in 2009, more than 1,000 people have earned their CTA designation in Door County.  

The Door County Visitor Bureau is the official tourism marketing organization for Door County, whose mission is to generate incremental economic impact for the community by attracting visitors with strategies that ensure sustainable tourism.

Accompanying Assets

People receiving the Employer of the Year award in 2018.

Sturgeon Bay Visitor Center's Savanna Townsend (center) accepts the Door County Certified Tourism Ambassador (CTA) Employer of the Year award  at the Door County Visitor Bureau's (DCVB) 93rd annual meeting on Tuesday October 30, 2018 at Fernwood Gardens Ballroom at Mr. G's. Also pictured are DCVB President/CEO Jack Moneypenny (left) and DCVB CTA program co-facilitator Laura Kevin.